High Tea at Hotel Sorella

Hey Broke Foodies!

So, disclaimer – this specific event is a little pricey but its a great experience and totally worth it so I wanted to share it with you all :).

img_7962-1

I was invited to High Tea this past Sunday by a fellow blogger babe, Alley  , and I really enjoyed the experience and the tea! Not only was it a fun excuse to dress up, but you also have the restaurant almost entirely to yourself and the tea and food was fabulous. I have to admit that I felt a bit like The Duchess of Sussex, Meghan.

High Tea is also a great space to sip tea and spill the TEA, if you know what I mean!

I would highly recommend for birthdays, girls day out, day time bachelorette party outings, and my favorite pass-time…..being bojee/extra.

Ambiance

img_8052-1

Aesthetic

High Tea takes place in Radio Milano, an Italian cafe, inside Hotel Sorella in City Centre. The décor and aesthetic is EVERYTHING.  There are several photo worthy spots around the restaurants itself and Hotel Sorella. The restaurant was almost completely empty while we were there and our host was fabulous as well.

The Tea

img_7981

Radio Milano proudly serves Dammann Freres exclusive teas. Dammann Freres strives for the perfect cup of tea every time. The “perfect cup” meaning one that does not need added sugar, honey, lemon, etc. The tea also comes out brewed at the optimal temperature and infusion time. Tip: Make sure to remove the sieve of tea from the teapot  or your tea will oversteep and become bitter by your second cup! The Damman Freres teas are truly an art.

There are 12 teas to pick from, all with their own flavor profile and description. I opted for the Oolong Caramel Au Behrre Sale. Its description alone sold me – ” Notes of Oolong tea are combined with sweet and savory caramel aroma”. I can truly say that this is the best tea I’ve ever had! I didn’t need to add any honey or sweetener. It had a wonderfully sweet aroma of toffee and a great aftertaste. It wasn’t bitter at all but still had a strong flavor profile of the oolong. I highly recommend! I also tried the Chai from Rwanda which was also a great spicy and sweet addition to my dessert.

The Cocktails

The cocktails are what separate Radio Milano’s High Tea into the “modern” category. However, I was underwhelmed by their cocktails. I really wanted to like them because they look beautiful but the flavor just wasn’t there. All of the cocktails are Elvis Themed and have a botanical note to completemet the tea. I tried the “A Stranger in My Arms” and it was a beautiful drink but rlly didn’t have much flavor to it. A few of the other girls complained about their drinks either being too strong or not having much flavor as well !

The Food

There are 3 different menus and tiers for High Tea. I’ll get to those in a minute . But first, let’s talk food! I tried canapés from each menu. Canapé is just a fancy word for decorative light bites.

Smoke Salmon

img_8011

Beef Carpoccio

img_8013

Tuna Tartare

img_8033

Grilled Cheese

I tried the Beef Carpacio, tuna tartare, smoked salmon, crudités, crab cakes, grilled cheese + dessert! My personal favorite were the grilled cheese, tuna tartare, crab cakes and crudités.

High Tea at Hotel Sorella is by reservation only from 12 pm-4 pm daily. There are three different menu tiers ranging from $25 to $45 per person. Call 713-827-3545 to reserve !
  • $25 Menu Tier: 3 canapés + 4 desserts + your choice of tea
  • $35 Menu Tier: 4 canapés + 4 desserts + your choice of tea + glass of Prosecco
  • $45 Menu Tier: 6 canapés + 5 desserts + your choice of tea + signature craft cocktail

You can find the menu here.

img_8098

Stay bougie my friends !

Thanks for reading

-Mel-

Leave a comment